Johnson County Soil and Water Conservation District


Our mission is to clear our water by treating every acre with respect.


Our vision is a conservation partnership that provides leadership for the enhancement of Johnson County's natural resources and quality of life.

We see a county where our agricultural heritage, continued urbanization and production agriculture coexist in an environmentally and economically sustainable way.

We see a balanced landscape where productive land and natural resources are protected, restored and thriving.

Soil Commissioners

Travis Spevacek (elected November 2017)
Bonnie Riggan (appointed 2017)
Jody Bailey (appointed January 2015)
Ed Ruppenkamp (re-elected November 2014)
Alex Schmidt (re-elected November 2012)

Assistant Commissioners




Our Team

Tony Maxwell, Acting District Conservationist, NRCS

VACANT, State Secretary, IDALS

Stacie Lowe, Soil Conservationist, NRCS

Dan Mahoney, Soil Technician, NRCS

Amy Bouska, Urban Conservationist, IDALS

Elizabeth Elliott , District Tech/Admin. Ast.

John Rathbun, Clear Creek Watershed Project Coordinator

VACANT, District Intern




Help us continue to provide environmental education and technical assistance to Johnson County residents by donating now. 

Donate Here 


Help conserve our resources through a wide variety of volunteer opportunities.

Get Involved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software